Harvesting of walnuts

The harvesting of walnuts is held each year between September and November. It begins when the husk is crackring and that the shell is dark and damp. Walnut trees are then shaken so that walnuts fall on the ground and they are then picked up and washed before being dried, except of course for fresh walnuts.

Concerning Grenoble walnuts with P.D.O.the date of harvesting is fixed by a commission of maturity made up of traders, directors, producers, and members of the CING, the INAO and the SENURA, and is formalized in a prefectoral Decree. The walnuts are harvested when mature, when the kernel is solid and peels easily. The internal central partition is completely brown for 80% of the concerned walnuts orchard . The drying process starts as soon as possible and in a maximum of 36 hours after harvest.

Coopenoix and its member growers collect annually on average 6,000 tons of wanuts, from which, about 250 tons are fresh walnuts.

Some history...

As early as 1927, members of the Federation of walnuts growers shake the branches with a pole picker, collect walnuts by hand, wash and sort carefully before making a first calibration to the dimensions specified by the board of directors of the Federation. Usually, walnuts are gathered by the communal Federation that delivers the walnuts by ox carts or "motor truck" to the Federation whose headquarters is located in the city "Albenc". Upon their arrival, the bags are weighted in front of a Union delegate and a member of the Board of Directors. The Federation rules in cash the Union representatives who pay in cash farmers in their area. This practice will continue until the 1960s where cheques replaced cash. It was only in the 1970s that growers are paid directly and individually forcing many of them to open a bank account for the first time.

In 1929, the walnuts are delivered to Tullins' factory. Profesional workers remove walnuts of bad appearance. Walnuts are put in mechanical washers and then dryers before being calibrated mechanically. They are then packed in bags from 500g to 50kg before being shipped.

In 1932, 900 tons of walnuts are harvested from which 625 tons are sold in shells, 75 tons as fresh walnuts and 200 tons shelled.

The highest harvests are recorded in 1952, 1972, 1982, and 2006. Between 1990 and 2000, production has increased from 1 600 to 3 300 tonnes.

In 2008, COOPENOIX collects 6 000 tonnes of which 250 tons of fresh walnuts, 5,900 tonnes of dryed inshell walnuts and 150 tons of shelled walnuts.

Apart from the fact that the area of harvesting (from Saint Marcellin to Moirans in 1936) expanded and extends today from the Drôme to the Savoy, the regular increase of the production is also due to better fertilization, the quality of treatments and the pruning of the walnut trees.

In 1924, we planted 40 to 60 walnut trees per hectare and trees produced walnuts only after fifteen years. Today, a one-hectare orchard has more than a hundred trees which begin producing walnuts after only five years. Since 1980, the harvest is completely mechanized.

La récolte des noix

La récolte des noix a lieu chaque année entre le mois de Septembre et le mois de Novembre. Elle se fait lorsque le brou de noix se fissure et que la coque est sombre et humide. Les noyers sont alors secoués afin de faire tomber les noix au sol puis elles sont ramassées et lavées avant d’être séchées, sauf bien sûr pour les noix fraiches.

Pour la noix de Grenoble AOP, la date de récolte est fixée par une commission de maturité composée de négociants, metteurs en marché, producteurs, de membres du CING, de l’INAO, et de la SENURA, et est officialisée à un arrêté préfectoral. Les noix sont récoltées à bonne maturité c’est-à-dire lorsque le cerneau est ferme et se pèle facilement. La cloison médiane interne est complètement brune pour 80% des noix du verger concerné. Le séchage débute le plus rapidement possible et au maximum dans les 36 heures après la récolte.

Coopenoix et ses producteurs adhérents récoltent chaque année en moyenne 6 000 tonnes de noix dont environ 250 tonnes de noix fraîches.

Un peu d’histoire…

Dès 1927, les adhérents de la Fédération de Producteurs de Noix de Grenoble secouent les branches avec une gaule, ramassent les noix à la main, les lavent et les trient soigneusement avant d’effectuer un premier calibrage aux dimensions indiquées par le Conseil d’administration de la Fédération. Le plus souvent, les noix sont rassemblées par le syndicat communal qui les livre en charrette tirée par des boeufs ou en “camion automobile” à la Fédération dont le siège est situé à L’Albenc. À leur arrivée, les sacs sont pesés devant un délégué du syndicat et un membre du comité d’administration. La Fédération règle en numéraire les représentants des syndicats qui reversent l’argent aux agriculteurs de leur secteur. Cette pratique va perdurer jusque vers les années 60 où les chèques remplacent l’argent liquide. Ce n’est que dans les années 1970 que les producteurs sont payés directement et individuellement ce qui oblige bon nombre d’entre eux à ouvrir, pour la première fois, un compte bancaire.

En 1929, les noix sont livrées à la station de Tullins. Des ouvrières exercées enlèvent les noix de mauvaise apparence. Les noix passent ensuite dans les laveurs mécaniques puis dans le séchoir avant d’être calibrées mécaniquement. Elles sont ensuite mises en sacs, de 50 kg à 500 g, avant d’être expédiées.

En 1932, 900 tonnes de noix sont récoltées dont 625 tonnes sont vendues en coques, 75 tonnes fraîches et 200 tonnes en cerneaux.

Les plus fortes récoltes sont enregistrées en 1952, 1972, 1982 et 2006. Entre 1990 et 2000, la production est passée de 1 600 à 3 300 tonnes.

En 2008, COOPENOIX collecte 6 000 tonnes dont 250 tonnes de noix fraîches, 5 900 tonnes de noix sèches et 150 tonnes de cerneaux.

Outre le fait que le secteur de récolte (de Saint Marcellin à Moirans en 1936) s’est agrandi et s’étend aujourd’hui de la Drôme à la Savoie, l’augmentation régulière de la production s’explique aussi par la fumure, la qualité des traitements et la taille des noyers.

En 1924, on plantait 40 à 60 noyers à l’hectare et les arbres ne produisaient des noix qu’au bout de quinze ans. Aujourd’hui, un verger d’un hectare compte plus d’une centaine d’arbres qui produisent des noix au bout de cinq ans. Depuis 1980, la récolte est totalement mécanisée.